NYC Fun

NYC Bucket List, Birthday Edition (Part II): Girls on the Run 5K and Negril Village

I wish I had pictures from my morning adventure on my actual birthday. I signed up as a “running buddy” for an 11 year old girl through an organization called Girls on the Run. As a running buddy I would spend the race motivating this lovely girl, Anavel, and helping her complete her first 5K. It was a beautiful day and took her a little over an hour to complete it. Thought it was longer than I expected it was a great experience to do something good for this little girl and help her to make positive choices for her health. I wonder if there is an organization like this in Barcelona that I can join?

I spent the rest of the day relaxing, packing, reading my book and saving up my energy for the glorious dinner that I would be having with my parents. We ventured to the Jamaican restaurant, Negril Village to test the Caribbean cuisine and see if it was up to par.

The ambiance was great. It was a stylish restaurant just below Washington Square Park with a friendly staff of both native Jamaicans and other imports. The menu read like Sunday night dinner at my parents house so I was excited to dig in. So excited that I forgot to take pictures before we did!

We started with the appetizer platter of cod fish fritters, jerk chicken wings, collard greens spring rolls, jerk shrimp and plantains. It was served with three dipping sauces – spicy jerk sauce, guacamole (for the fritters) and tamarind sauce. We had a good time trying the different items and they were all delicious. My favorites were the cod fish fritters, they were not as salty as I expected.

Mom and I tried the specialty cocktail – Coconut Rum Punch and it was strong, but not too strong, but quite delicious and large enough to last through our whole meals.

For my meal, I went with the one Trinidadian item on the menu – Roti with Curried Bonless Chicken. It was made with what we call paratha roti and ensconced the chicken. Normally, these things are separated. I was afraid it would be soggy, but to the contrary it stayed crunchy and hit the spot! The only problem I had was that it was a bit too spicy for my liking. I know I’m a child of Caribbean parents, but I just never got used to eating extremely spicy food. It was so good that I didn’t want to strop eating it.

So I just made sure the waiter brought around more and more water so I could keep going to my breaking point and when I reached that I took the leftovers home. I’m not sure how well they are going to heat up. But we’ll find out later today!

Mom and dad both had the same meal, Jerk Steak with Veggies and Mashed Plantains. I tried a bit and it was quite good and I must say, much less spicy than my dish. I think they both enjoyed it greatly because they cleared their plates.

While I was on the phone with my uncle and aunt my mom managed to alert the waiter to the fact that is was my birthday and they surprised me with a some Mango Cheesecake when we finished our meal. It was so good, I could have had another. I highly recommend trying this. It also helped to cool down my ailing tongue.

What a great birthday dinner. If you’re ever in New York City, definitely look up Negril Village for an authentic island meal.

One thought on “NYC Bucket List, Birthday Edition (Part II): Girls on the Run 5K and Negril Village

Leave a Reply

