NYC Bucket List, Birthday Edition (Part III): Dos Toros Taqueria and Molly’s Cupcakes

My good friend, and former TNT mentor buddy, Anthony introduced me to Dos Toros a few years ago and I can’t get enough of this small local chain. Over the past two years they have expanded to include a location in the Upper East Side (right near my home) and one in the West Village (right near my job). It could not be better for me! Just a quick walk, no matter where I am and I can get great, affordable Mexican. So on the first day of work after my birthday when Liz offered to take me out for a birthday lunch, I chose DT!

I had my usual, the Carne Asada Quesadilla with guac, tomatoes, and sour cream. Now, their quesadillas are more like burritos, minus the rice. They grill/toast one slice of cheese on a tortilla and then fill it with deliciousness and fold it like a burrito. I recommend eating it there because it can get quite cold after a few minutes walking. It is the perfect size for lunch and worth every penny. It definitely hit the spot. Always opt for the FREE water (great budget saver). We people watched for a bit while we devoured our meals and then headed to get dessert.

My team is all about birthday’s at work  and I love it! Even though Liz is no longer on my team, she organized the cupcakes (and took me with her to pick them out). Originally she was going to go to Sweet Revenge which was just a few doors away, but I suggested that we try the cupcakes place across from DT that we had never gotten a chance to explore. It’s called Molly’s Cupcakes and offered a greater variety than Sweet Revenge.  We got a dozen different cupcakes and chowed down for an afternoon birthday celebration.

All of the cupcakes seem to have some sort of filling, minus the standard vanilla, chocolate, and red velvet. And they were phenomenal. Great for a sweets lover like me. I had half of the cake batter one and half of the peanut butter. The peanut butter was filled with Nutella. I liked it but it was a little too peanut buttery for me as the cake and the frosting had peanut butter. Cake batter was filled with raw cake batter, which was interesting and it a little gross to look at, but delicious to eat. I’m glad we finally got a chance to try it! Thanks Liz!

P.S. – Liz also made me double chocolate bacon cookies. They are too die for. Check out NY Cookie Crumbs!

Leave a Reply

