Great Book for Expats: Tout Sweet – Hanging Up My Heels for a New Life in Rural France

I just finished this fabulous book by Karen Wheeler on my new iPad Kindle app. It has been on my to-read list on Goodreads for a long time so once I got my wonderful new tablet for my birthday I check the NYPL website to see if it was available on e-book and to my great delight it was.

Karen is a fashion writer who on a whim purchases a fixer-upper in rural France and quits her day job in the UK to start a new life. Fortunately, she is a freelance fashion journalist and is able to make a living writing articles from her now remote location.Tout Sweet was so well written it was captivating the entire way through. I couldn’t put it down, which made celebrating Father’s Day difficult! There are lots of twists and turns as Karen gets her life and new house in order and meets a lot of great new French and expat friends. I won’t give away any more as I don’t want to ruin the book.

As I will be soon embarking on my own expat journey to get my MBA in Spain this was a great read. I highly recommend it. I’m now adding Tout Allure and Tout Soul to my queue of “to-read” books. Bummer they are not available from the library, but I’m willing to buy them since the first book was so enjoyable. I hope that Karen was able to find a beau deserving of her and have many more great adventures in France!

2 thoughts on “Great Book for Expats: Tout Sweet – Hanging Up My Heels for a New Life in Rural France

  1. I was wondering whether you would be happy to put up a link in my monthly series called “Books You Love”. The idea is for people to link up posts about a book they loved – it doesn’t have to be one they just posted about. It could be an old fave. I am hoping we will end up with a nice collection of books that can go on our reading lists. Here is the link Books You Loved June Edition

Leave a Reply

