NYC Bucket List: Eatery

Last night I met up with my good friend Lauren for a lovely seafood dinner in Hell’s Kitchen at Eatery. We’re both been to this restaurant before for brunch and it is absolutely amazing so since Lauren had to walk her growing puppy in the area we decide to try it for dinner. Now the restaurant is not strictly seafood, it’s just what caught our eye this time.

We started with the Tequila Mussels appetizer and we did not realize just how much food it was going to be! Look at the plate, it was enormous. It could have served 4 people…but we finished it anyway. The sauce was amazing, I just wanted to drink it like soup – it was made with tomato, garlic, onions, cliantro, and, you guessed it, tequila. Thinking back. Maybe that was why it was so delicious!

Not on the menu, the daily special

After we read the menu we were going to opt for the burger, but when the waiter arrived and proclaimed that the special was scallops we couldn’t resist and both ordered the same thing. The scallops were served over a bed of arugula with black olives, artichoke and tomatoes. Fried onions topped it all off. They were so tender and juicy, but I couldn’t finish everything because I was so full from the mussels!

Overall a good meal and I splurged a little because I hadn’t seen Lauren in over a year (and I sold another piece of furniture so I could afford the splurge). It was $53.oo each (a drink, mussels, scallops, tax and tip) and I don’t regret it. And to beat the summer heat I stopped at Duane Reade on the way home and got a great deal on ice cream with two pints of Bryers for $4.00. Yumm!

Eatery
798 Ninth Ave. at 53rd St.
New York City 10019
(212) 765-7080
eaterynyc.com

Leave a Reply

