My Ups and Downs in Running

Four years ago I laced up my running shoes to train for my first marathon on a whim and I haven’t turned back since. I’ve had so many ups and downs trying to acclimate to different temperatures, fight my asthma and reach my goals. It’s had been a while ride and this display on my wall in my Upper East Side apartment has kept me going. Tonight I’m going to take it down and start a new chapter, so I figured that I would re-cap the past four years.

  1. December 31, 2008/January 1, 2009 – Emerald Nuts Midnight Run (4-Miler); New York, NY
    • My first race ever! It was an un-chipped fun run through NYRR and the most frigid day imaginable. Felt like -6 degrees F outside and we still decided to go for it. The worst part was having the sweat dry on my body after the run. We almost got sick!
  2. March 23, 2009 – Maratona di Roma; Rome, Italy
    • My first marathon and first chipped race. The chip was actually in my bib not on my shoe. The hardest part was running on cobble stone for a few miles at the beginning and end. I’ll never forget how competitive the field was in Europe and that they gave out cookies and oranges as nutrition. Yum! My dad and my friend Betty came to watch. It was so great to have their support!
    • Pace: 12:12, Time: 5:20 (Though my watch says 5:04, I trust my watch)
  3. December 31, 2009/January 1, 2010 – Emerald Nuts Midnight Run (4-Miler); New York, NY
    • After the marathon I took almost a full year off running. My body had been through a lot and I didn’t think I would do it again. But I ended up back at Emerald Nuts and signed-up for another season of Team in Training to take on the San Diego Marathon next!
  4. February 21, 2010 – Al Gordon Classic 4-Miler; Brooklyn, New York
    • Another first, my first race in Prospect Park! It was chilly, though I got a little overheated at the end, I made it to my goal of sub-10 minute miles the whole way.
    • Pace: 9:39, Time: 38:39
  5. Date? – NYRR 8000; New York, NY
    • I think this is the only 8000 distance race I have ever seen and I can’t remember the date. I also can’t look it up because I ran with someone else’s number 😡
  6. June 6, 2010 – San Diego Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon; San Diego, California
    • At mile 12 the sun came up and dehydrated us all beyond belief. It was a great race over all. Minus the bit on Fiesta Island where you could see two miles straight ahead of you and there was no crowd support. I remember collapsing into my coaches arms at mile 25, so glad to see a friendly face.
    • Pace: 10:37, Time: 4:38:29
  7. June 16, 2010 – J.P. Morgan Corporate Challenge (3.5-Miler); New York, NY
    • Ten days post marathon, I was not moving fast at all. I decided to walk it with my friend Karen who asked me to sign-up with her. I did the race for the company I no longer worked for, but it was fun.
    • Pace: 14:03, Time: 49:13
  8. October 3, 2010 – Steeplechase Medical Center Distance Run 25K
    • I did not finish this race. My tendonitis kicked in at mile 9 and I could not go any further. It still bothers me to this day, that I could not finish.
  9. December 5, 2010 – Joe Klienerman 10K; New York, NY
    • Best run ever while drunk. I had a Christmas party the day before at my apartment, but I was determined to still run the race. And it worked out because I got a pretty solid time.
    • Pace: 9:23; Time: 58:19
  10. December 12, 2010 – Holiday Run on the Hudson; Jersey City, NJ
    • This run was in a torrential down pour, but oddly a nice warm winter day. I had to stop and take off my long sleeve. I somehow can not manage to master the 5K.
    • Pace: 9:35; Time: 29:47
  11. January 17, 2011 – PF Chang’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Arizona Marathon; Phoenix, Scottsdale and Tempe, Arizona
    • The heat and arid temperatures in Arizona ran havoc with my asthma and I had a slight attack at mile 19. I was determined to finish the race and ran/walked from 19 – 26.2. There was a lot of crying because I missed my goal of 4:20, but in the end I’m glad I persevered and finished the race.
    • Pace: 11:24; Time: 4:58:50
  12. April 10, 2011 – Scotland Run 10K; New York, NY
    • Nothing particularly memorable about this race. The west to east run up Harlem Hill did not help my time. But I’m glad I kept it under 10 minute miles.
    • Pace: 9:40; Time: 1:00:04
  13. April 17, 2011 – City Parks Foundation Run for the Parks 4-Miler; New York, NY
    • Pace: 9:26; Time: 37:38
  14. May 8, 2011 – Japan Day 4-Miler; New York, NY
    • Best race of 2011 and it was hot and steamy out. I can remember just wanting to get it over with.
    • Pace: 9:14; Time: 36:58
  15. May 13-14, 2011 – Ragnar Relay; New York (Woodstock to Westchester, NY)
    • If you’ve never run a relay race grab 11 friends (or 5 if you’re a baller) and sign up for the Ragnar Relay! It was one of the best experiences of my running life and made me want to be come an ambassador for the program. After 20.8 miles of hills, hills, and more hills I was beat by this race, but so much stronger after having finished it with my team.
  16. May 21, 2011 – Brooklyn Half Marathon; Brooklyn, NY
    • Don’t run a half marathon after a relay race. Ouch! This was the first race my mom got to watch me finish so that was so much fun!
    • Pace: 10:02; Time: 2:11:32
  17. June 11, 2011 – NY Mini 10K; New York, NY
    • Another hot day slowing my down.
    • Pace: 9:51; Time: 1:01:18
  18. June 25, 2011 – Pride Run 5-Miler; New York, NY
    • I ran this one with my friend Dana – or rather ran walked it. At the last few miles I had to pick up the pace to just get it done. But it was great to stick with her and learn to run walk for the first few.
    • Pace: 11:23; Time: 56:56
  19. July 16, 2011 Run for Central Park; New York, NY
    • Pace: 9:44; Time: 38:57
  20. July 23, 2011 – Waterfront Warriors 5K; Long Beach, NY
    • The first and only race that I ran with Ryan. And he kicked my butt! Those long stems and years of athleticism have me beat.
    • Pace: 9:27; Time: 29:22
  21. October 2, 2011 – Merrell Down & Dirty Mud Run 10K; Bronx, NY
    • This was my first obstacle race and it was a lot of fun. I couldn’t for the life of my get over the slippery wall (no arm strength at all). And I must tell you that mud, is definitely not only mud. Ick!
    • Pace: 11:449; Time: 1:13:26
  22. October, 22, 2011 – Rock ‘n’ Roll New York 10K; Brooklyn, NY
    • My friend Amar’s first race! It was great to see him getting into running more. Now he’s gone and done the Broadstreet Run and I think getting ready for his first Half Marathon!
    • Pace: 9:38; Time: 59:56
  23. September 24, 2011 – 5th Avenue Mile; New York, NY
    • Sooo much slower than I expected. It’s really hard to run a mile sprint!! I’ve love the chance to try again. 
    • Pace/Time: 8:30
  24. November 20, 2011 – Race to Deliver 4-Miler, New York, NY
    • A pretty solid race. I love running in the cooler months of the year.
    • Pace: 9:10; Time: 36:44
  25. March 18, 2012 – NYC Half Marathon; New York, NY
    • AMAZING RACE!!! I cried like the little girl that I am after this race and getting an amazing PR! A sub-2 hour half marathon. What an amazing start to 2012 running!!
    • Pace: 9:07; Time: 1:59:24
  26. May 11 – 12, 2012 – Ragnar Relay; Cape Cod (Plymouth, MA to Provincetown, MA) 
    • This race was a lot of fun. My mileage only ended up being close to 10 miles in the end, but that was good because of my recent back injury.
  27. June 10, 2012 – Girls on the Run 5K; New York, NY
    • I was a running buddy to an 11 year old girl. She completed her first 5K with me. Learn more about Girls on the Run here.
  28. June 16, 2012 – TEECS Read, Write and Run 5K; Jersey City, NJ
    • My friend Tracy organized this race. So of course I had to run it! But it was so hot I couldn’t do better than a 10 minute mile. But I was in the top 10 for my age group! (Granted there weren’t that many of us! haha!)
    • Pace: 10:06; Time: 30:20:40; Place: 10 in age group
  29. June, 23, 2012 – Pride Run 5-Miler; New York, NY
    • Another sticky hot day. Bleh! I need to get back to my decreasing pace.
    • Pace: 10:38; Time: 53:11

It’s been a year of ups and downs. I’m ready for more ups. On to European running!

Leave a Reply

