Great Books for Expats: Lunch in Paris & A Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost

Lunch in Paris: A Love Story with Recipes by Elizabeth Bard

I’ve been quickly digesting all of the expat books that I borrow digitally from the NYPL to gear up for my trip. Hearing other people’s stories of successful assimilation are getting me more and more excited for Barna. I recently read, Lunch in Paris: A Love Story with Recipes by Elizabeth Bard. It’s a great tale of how she met her French husband and made the choice to move to Paris with him and leave her life behind in London and the U.S. Bard falls madly in love with visiting French markets and cooking while she is finding her true passion and has peppered this story with recipes of traditional French cuisine with her own touch.

I could have done without the recipes myself because they are not going to come in very useful to me, as I don’t own the book . But I still think it’s a great idea and maybe one day I will but it and cook favorite of her dishes (based solely on descriptions from her recipes.) All of the amazing meals that she has sound amazing. I can’t wait for me weekend in Paris at the end of September!

 

A Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost: A Memoir of Three Continents, Two Friends and One Unexpected Adventure by Rachel Friedman

The second book that I finished this morning is the The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost by Rachel Friedman. As a college Junior Rachel doesn’t know what she wants to do with her life after giving up a career in music. So she travels to Ireland for the summer and cannot contain her wanderlust. After meeting an adventurous Aussie, Carly, she voyages down under, after graduating from college, to experience the Outback and everything else the continent has to offer.

Shortly thereafter, Rachel and Carly plan to meet up in South America for the trip of a lifetime. Spending months traveling through Argentina, Bolivia, Peru and Chile, before parting. Along the way Rachel is able to find herself, partially quench her never ending thirst to travel and find her future husband, and eventually herself. I wish she’s put a little bit more behind the latter to let us know how she came to settle down and what was the true turning point for her. Maybe a second book?

Both books were superbly written and enjoyable. I highly recommend them.

Leave a Reply

