Barcelona

Casa Batlló

The roof at Casa Batlló
The roof at Casa Batlló

In late May, I finally took a trip inside of Casa Batlló, surprising myself that I haven’t yet been considering the close proximity to my apartment. So when a friend came to visit, I definitely took her up on the visit. I had read about this building in an art class in college, how Gaudi didn’t use a single right angle in his work. But it was still very interesting to see. You hardly noticed it, unless you were looking.

Intricate flower pots at the entrance
Intricate flower pots at the entrance

The whole building was made to look like you were underwater, which rich blue accents on all of the tile, fluid staircases and shapes reminiscent of shells. It was very beautiful, but I couldn’t imagine this ever being someone house. But I’ve heard that people still live. I’m not sure how they would with all the tourism, but there were a lot of locked doors.

Very intricate door
Very intricate door
Beautiful mosaic bench in the back patio
Beautiful mosaic bench in the back patio

Even the pack patio was as colorful and intricate at you can imagine. If I lived here and ever felt sad I think just having a walk around back here would instantly turn around my mood.

Main sala
Main sala

What an amazing view of Passeig de Gracia from up here. I even got a discount for being a resident. Pretty nice. I’m glad I finally made it!

One thought on “Casa Batlló

Leave a Reply

