La Pedrera | Casa Milà

Now that's Gaudí

Now that’s Gaudí

Where I live in Gràcia is about a 10 minute walk from La Pedrera so it’s a wonder I didn’t visit the this inside until this past May. I must say I expected to see more of the building that just the rooftop and the penthouse apartment. It made me very curious what is taking place in the rest of the building.

Rooftop of la Pedrera

Rooftop of la Pedrera

However, the rooftop was simply breathtaking. The steady trickle of rain didn’t prevent us from enjoying this majestic sight. Like Casa Batlló you could definitely see Gaudí’s style, very few sharp edges, but rather amazing over-the-top curved structures.

A rainy day didn't stop tourism

A rainy day didn’t stop tourism

It was like a park was created on top of this building. With the ominous rain cloud handing low above the building the scene was very reminiscent of being in never-ending maze of staircases in a thriller film (flash to David Bowie in Labyrinth.) The blueish-grey metal guards surrounding all of the edges ruined the scenery, but they are completely understandably in place to prevent any mishaps.

intricate and beautiful I wish this gates were not here

intricate and beautiful I wish this gates were not here

Love these ceiling beams so artistic

Love these ceiling beams so artistic

Inside you can still see Gaudí’s handiwork with this intricate patter to even the plain red bricks that made up the ceiling support. Everything was clearly thought through and artistically designed. I could not help but marvel at the years of planning that must have taken place. From what I have read on Gaudí he was very adamant about architecting his building to his desires and not of those who hired him. Call it artistic integrity I guess!

Dress in the apartment

Dress in the apartment

The top floor featured a recreation of an early 20th Century apartment. It is completely outfitted and interesting to see. I would have loved this same treatment done in Casa Batlló so that one might see what it was really like to live there. I guess with the stead influx of hundreds of tourists a day it’s best to have less in the building than more.

Maids quarters

Maids quarters

I particularly liked the maids quarters. The outfit is just like I’d imagine. It’s like walking into the set of Downton Abbey. (If you haven’t watched it, you should! Great show!)

Storeroom

Storeroom

Master Bedroom

Master Bedroom

Very old telephone

Very old telephone

It was a great short visit, much shorter than I imagined being such a large building. It was worth the visit. I’m glad we got to see it and take full advantage of my neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

