Festes de Gràcia and My Barnaversary!

Look closely, flowers made from umbrellas with colanders and tea cups

Look closely, flowers made from umbrellas with colanders and tea cups

I can’t believe that one year ago on August 17th I arrived in Barcelona! Time has flown by so quickly and I again get to enjoy the amazing Festa Major de Gràcia! Some of the decorations on the street are truly spectacular. This was one of my favorite street. Some of the designs are from found object, some recycled, and turned into amazing art work.

Plaça Vila de Gràcia or a Candy shop!

Plaça Vila de Gràcia or a Candy shop!

Candy braceletes!

Candy bracelets!

Castellers

Castellers

There was even a group of children and teen Castellers in the plaza around the corner from my apartment. I’m looking forward to seeing more as the festivities continue.

Really nicely made Dragon. It was literally made over night, I saw the progress.

Really nicely made Dragon. It was literally made over night, I saw the progress.

Angry birds. Not the most exciting street.

Angry birds. Not the most exciting street.

T-Rex! So well made!

T-Rex! So well made!

More of the candy shop

More of the candy shop

Very realistic cotton candy

Very realistic cotton candy

Hot air ballon street, my second favorite

Hot air ballon street, my second favorite

Amb paciencía

Amb paciencía

Thimble and buttons made out of tobacco cans

Thimble and buttons made out of tobacco cans

Nice use of a terrace

Nice use of a terrace

Spaniards do know how to throw a mean party! I’m most looking forward to the fire parade or Correfoc on Wednesday night. Let the party continue!

Leave a Reply

