Lisboa – Day 1

Amazing stop to photograph

Amazing stop to photograph

After a ridiculous early flight from Valencia I touched down in Lisboa where I didn’t need to go through passport control to leave the airport (yeah Spain!) and my friends were waiting outside the airport bleary eyed but excited to see me. It has been two-week since I last saw LS and three months since seeing JoM. The short drive to JoM’s apartment was really exciting despite the early wake up call. We choose to eat breakfast and get the day going early.

Belem Tower

Belem Tower

First stop was a trip to Belem where we walked along the river and ventured into Belem Towers. It was free this day maybe because of the first Sunday of the month or just every Sunday. We did not know, but it’s always good to get things for free. This tower has an amazing view of the city and waterfront and beautiful architecture. Many spots for a great picture. The only peculiar part was the staircases leading up and down, so shall I say staircase. There was only one for both ways of traffic and a series of electronic signs telling visitors when they could move or not.

Beautiful backdrop for a group shot!

Beautiful backdrop for a group shot!

JoM ran into some guys from her home town, who are in a third tier football team and were eager to take pictures with us, a “we met Foreign girls” moment. So odd. But we took the opportunity to get them to take some snaps of just us. The spectacular view and facade were the most there was to see, so we finished quickly and moved on to the next stop.

Pasteis de Belem

Pasteis de Belem

Amazing cream filled desserts

Amazing cream filled desserts

After making a quick lunch reservation we decided to spoil out meal by starting with dessert at Pastèis de Belem. They have the most amazing pastèis de nata you could ever imagine. I’d never tried it before and it was pure heaven to my taste buds!

Thai and Portuguese friendship

Thai and Portuguese friendship

One our way down we passed a Thai structure that was a symbol of friendship between Thailand and Portugal. So amazing since I was with my Thai and Portuguese friends! A picture perfect moment.

Cloister of the Cathedral

Cloister of the Cathedral

Absolutely stunning architecture

Absolutely stunning architecture

After getting sufficiently stuffed with dessert in this cavernous restaurant, we headed off to the Monastery to visit the cloisters. The regular portion had a huge line we were unwilling to wait on in the midday heat. The cloister was beautiful, with carved marble and stone at every pass and many opportunities for a picture.

View from Darwin Restaurant

View from Darwin Restaurant

And there was just enough time to visit before our lunch on the water at Darwin Restaurant. The food was sub-par, but the view was definitely not and made up for it completely.

Cable car

Cable car

Great view of the top of the city

Great view of the top of the city

pink street!

pink street!

To work off our meal we took a stroll around the shopping district and saw some of the familiar sights from my first visit to Lisbon in 2006. It was fun to remember and think just how different this trip was now that I am 7 years older and with a local. Either way Lisbon is an amazing city that I’d definitely visit again. In this part of town was one street that was completely pink that I was immediately drawn to and cable cards that ran quickly past unsuspecting pedestrians.

My first night ended with dinner at my lovely from JoM’s cousin house where she cooked us a tradition Portuguese meal with not one but two kinds of bacalao or shall I say bacalhau. Delish!

One thought on “Lisboa – Day 1

  1. Christine says:

    Ahhh yes, one of my favorite cities. I felt like every where I turned I was experiencing something wonderful, even in the simple task of having a café in the morning
    (or should I say a relaxing cup of café lol!).

Leave a Reply

