A Weekend in London

Me and Dan Post Race Celebrating

Me and Dan Post Race Celebrating

I’m definitely getting a bit behind on my vacation recaps as the school year has started to ramp up, despite the fact that I have only 2 classes and two days of internships. But, since I have a little extra time today I thought I’d tell you about my weekend in London in early September. The reason for my visit was to run a half marathon and visit my friend DP. He’s a super cute accountant that I know from my time running in NYC. So I was so excited when he invited me to stay for the weekend and get the chance to run again with a really passionate runner.

DP and I at Tower Bridge

DP and I at Tower Bridge

Oddly enough I spend that majority of my time in London in Canary Wharf. I had friend there, DP lives close, and there was no need for me to visit the rest of town. I was good with a relaxing race weekend since I lived here during university. I did however take one obligatory touristy picture at Tower Bridge since we were so close by. There was a crazy protest going on that afternoon (hence the mounted police).

The view from the race course

The view from the race course

While picking up our race packets we saw this amazing view over all of London from the top of Greenwich Park. And what a great park! Nice running paths with some hills. I wish I knew about it while I was studying there. It was a bit of a dreary day (I expected no less from London). Good thing it was only on and off rain and not ruining the whole weekend. After all I had just come from Lisbon, so this was a complete shock to my system.

Big ship in a bottle

Big ship in a bottle

Another cool sight was this giant ship in a bottle in front of a nearby museum. I was completely fascinated and over zealous from my previous few days of picture-taking. Besides the half marathon, going to the cinema and eating, that was really all I did.

Before the race

Before the race

The race itself was great. My favorite part was the fact that there were no bibs, the t-shirts were all printed with the race numbers. AND unlike most, they fit really well. So great. Yet another reason to just love Nike. There was one problem on the course where we went into a park for a water stop and the entrance was backed-up with people taking us to a full stop both on the way in and out. That really cut down my time and killed my momentum. But, I finished and it didn’t rain until the second we decided to leave. Thank you mother nature for holding up!

Leave a Reply

