Climbing and Camping in Siurana

Me and CD on the way to the second day or climbing

Me and CD on the way to the second day or climbing

This weekend, two good friends and I, decided to get outside of Barcelona and back into nature to clear our heads with a bit of climbing and camping. I mentioned going to Siurana back in November for a long rainy weekend, but nothing can compare to this revisit to the area. After leaving Sant Cugat around midday we arrived in time to get some picnic lunch and start climbing. I tried two routes and made it to the top in the second one. Woo! (Both there V+)

A town near Siurana

A town near Siurana

Siurana

Siurana

I felt so much more confident about the climbing having CD there with me, than I did back in November. After a few climbs each and soaking in all the beautiful nature around us we headed to our camp ground in Siurana. What an amazingly beautiful town! Hard to see in this picture because it was getting to sundown, but these rock faces are multicolored and absolutely breathtaking. This was my first time camping, all three of us piled into OR’s tent after a few too many bottles of wine and snacks. It was not bad, though I woke up with some IT band pain from sleeping on my side all night. I’ll have to get used to that. This was for sure camping light, as we were in a camp ground with a restaurant and bathrooms. I enjoyed it nonetheless.

Trying to figure out where to go next is difficult

Trying to figure out where to go next is difficult

Day two started with a breakfast in the camp ground (that I should have skipped because it made me really sick later in the day) and then off to climb in Siurana this time. I felt a bit less scared this time, after the successful climbs yesterday, but I didn’t make it to the top, my arms and toes were getting spent. I made it as far as I could and gave in to pain.

Climbing a little bit of crack

Climbing a little bit of crack

It was interesting learning how to climb with both hands in a crack. Negotiating where to put your feet and hands next gets really difficult with little experience. But, hey, this was my 5th route ever on real rocks. So I felt pretty accomplished having made it as far as I did. Though, CD was keeping me on really tight tension that helped me make it up. I even belayed Oriol as he was going up this route. I did go flying once when he unexpected fell and I had to put my feet out to stop from hitting into the rocks. But, CD caught me and got me back on my feet.

Unfortunately this was the last climb for me of the day and I have no more picture because my phone died. Food poisoning and climbing don’t mix. I still had an amazing weekend. I’m ready to climb again soon! (But I’m definitely not eating any more lomo!) Man my body is sore! Good workout!

Leave a Reply

