The Life of a Consultant in Tanzania

IMG_6516As I head into the last month of my consulting project in Tanzania I think it’s about time that I start to tell you a bit about the whirlwind that I have been on. In the beginning I thought that I would not be placed on this project due to a conflict with the timing of Serbia, but alas to Tanzania I went in mid-August, the exact day that my student residency in Spain expired. Since then the visa has been approved, I’ve been in Africa for more than a month and I’ve learned more than can be imagined in a short period of time.

Street sign warning about wandering eyes

Street sign warning about wandering eyes

In the research phase of the project we do a lot of in person interview, so that means that I got to travel around the country a bit and see what life in Tanzania is really like. From our bubble in Masasani, a mostly expat (read super pijo) neighborhood in Dar Es Salaam, you don’t really get the big picture. The country is growing rapidly, technology and mobile communication has reached even the most rural areas, and multinationals are investing greatly. It is clear that in the next few years you are going to see great transformation in the country. But must of the country is still extremely poor and rural, with few paved roads, corrupt business practices, superstitious beliefs that lead to the gang rape of 9-year-old girls and murders of albinos, and a lack of proper business acumen to make a quicker leap into the future.

City Bus

City Bus

Coffin sales by the side of the road

Coffin sales by the side of the road?!

A farm tractor pulling an unattached trailer. Crazy!

A farm tractor pulling an unattached trailer. Crazy!

A little bit of home in the name of this restaurant! Plaza Catalunya! But the food was definitely not Spanish.

A little bit of home in the name of this restaurant! Plaza Catalunya! But the food was definitely not Spanish.

View from the Double Tree Hotel (my first hotel...)

View from the Double Tree Hotel (my first hotel…)

Despite these fault Tanzania is beautiful country with some of the friendliest people around, fantastic natural beauty and delicious BBQ called nyama choma. This is was my first experience in sub-saharan Africa and all I can say is I really dig it. I’m going to spend the next week that I am home in Barcelona telling you more about my trip. I hope it will make you want to visit Tanzania as well. Weekend njema my friends!

Leave a Reply

