Consulting Life · Travel

Selous Game Reserve Safari

Now we couldn’t leave Tanzania without going on a safari. But I didn’t realize when the client booked it for us just how pijo it was going to be. It would have been great to do a more adventurous safari with camping and a bit more danger, but few times in my life would I have this opportunity. I did take a bunch of pictures (…ahem over 300) but I think video makes it easier to experience it with me.

We arrived on a Friday evening spent the rest of the day in a short game ride and went back to our fabulous hotel. Here are a few pics. I felt like I should be on my honeymoon in a place like this. Which made me think about coming back, but sad that I was there by myself.

IMG_6752 IMG_6755 IMG_6756 IMG_6759

Each one of us had our own cabin with an amazing view of the river where at night we hear the hippos grunting. It was so serene with no cell service and so much breathtaking nature around I felt the weight of 36 days of straight working just melt away. The perks definitely make me forget the extent of the work that we had to do in a short period of time.

The next day was spent in a full day safari with a picnic lunch while some giraffes watched us from afar. Of course the most important part of the trip was the animals! So here are just a few of my favorite shots that are not captured in the video.

2014-09-25 21.54.14 2014-09-26 14.21.20 2014-09-26 15.00.48 2014-09-26 15.19.41 2014-09-26 15.55.25 2014-09-26 19.37.54 2014-09-26 20.19.28

Our last morning was spent in a river boat safari, mostly viewing hippos, crocs, and baboons. Not as exciting as the game ride, but definitely a great way to see more wildlife.

2014-09-27 12.56.37 2014-09-27 13.11.08 2014-09-27 13.20.58

Everyone needs to go on a safari once in their life!! I had such a good time in Tanzania! Let’s see what the next adventure brings.

4 thoughts on “Selous Game Reserve Safari

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I definitely recommend getting a great camera to take your pictures. I wish I had a better one with me when I traveled. Since I was there for work it wasn’t on the top of my mind. Enjoy your adventure!!

  1. Love this video! Really great song, especially with the take-off/landing. I must say, also a fan of your captioning.

    Your posts are giving me a serious travel bug.

Leave a Reply

