Travel

I love Krabi, Thailand! (And a little bit of Bangkok)

IMG_7334

While getting there required more transportation that I could imagine:

Taxi Van: Villa to Nathan Pier
Speed Walk/Run: Taxi left us at the wrong side!
Ferry: Koh Samui to Surat Thani
Bus: Surat Thani to Krabi Town
Shuttle Van: Krabi Town to Port
High Speed Boat: Port to Hotel

I absolutely loved my short stay in Krabi Thailand! Now here were the beautiful beaches and nature that I was looking for and unable to find on Koh Samui! We stayed at the Centara Grand, which was only accessible by boat making it all the more unique and beautiful. With a natural park behind us the hotel was surrounded by rocks, making this area a climbers paradise. Unfortunately, I wasn’t with climber friends and I didn’t have my climbing shoes with me. I kept thinking to myself that I have to come back here and get on those rocks! There was even one spot (that I didn’t get to capture on camera) that has rope ladders landing into the water and people boulder up and jump back into the water. It looked so amazing and fun!

IMG_7346 IMG_7351

We got to experience an incredibly colorful sunset from the beach out front of our villa, transforming from a bright yellow to neon orange to vibrant pink. I could put 20 more pictures of this sunset, but I’ll spare you the repetition. Then again, nothing could be more impactful that seeing it in person. =)

Leaving the villa at night for mainland Krabi proved a bit difficult as the last shuttle boat returned at 11:30. No late night partying for us! So we ended up getting an amazing meal at the number one restaurant on Trip Advisor, checking out our empty hotel bar, and calling it a night earlier than expected. But that was okay because we planned to adventure around a bit the next morning!
IMG_7397

During the second day of our stay, we hired a private long-tail boat for the day and jet around to four islands near by (which I can’t remember the names of…). This is where we saw some of the most amazing beaches. I was enjoying it too much to even take many pictures. After the first stop, we completely abandoned out clothes and bags and spend the rest of the day in swimwear hoping from beach to beach, drinking lots of coconut water and Singha, swimming, with a short stop for some amazing snorkeling midway through.IMG_7409

At our first stop on the boat there was a cave shrine devoted to fertility where there were hundreds and hundreds of wooden penises of all shapes, sizes and colors. Super random!

IMG_7412

Besides what looked like some nice climbs, my favorite part of this beach was the food boats! I wish they had gone to all of the other islands. When we got to one beach later one, the one little shack who sold food was out of coconuts and beer. HUGE distribution problem (…and I don’t need to be a strategy consultant to see that)! Such a killer opportunity missed for this little dude with all the tourists about.

IMG_7413

The boat rides were great. We came and went as we pleased. The guide/driver, however, was not very talkative. And that conversation often went like this “Snorkel?” “Yes.”….stops boat and points to snorkeling gear. But the snorkeling was in itself amazing. So many different fish and other sea creatures…some that looked like giant purple vaginas, thus competing the journey after our penis adventure before. I wish I had an underwater camera. And, I wish we had more days to spend in Krabi. But, it was off to Bangkok that next morning for the long trip back home to Barna. IMG_7420

I did however have time for a few quick stops in Bangkok before heading to the airport. We hit one temple Wat Poh to see the giant lying Buddha. It was super touristic (see Japanese tourists on the bottom left…) but beautiful to take in. I could not imagine going in here to pray under those conditions, but if it was quiet it would have been a nice peaceful place. IMG_7424

Lastly, we hit up an amazing rooftop bar for a killer sunset and some drinks. Here’s one view of the city spanning out below us. And with some strong piña coladas my Thailand New Year’s Eve adventure was over. Completely worth the 20 hours of travel back home. (Someone please remind me that long layover are the devil and to just pay the extra few hundred dollars next time!)

2 thoughts on “I love Krabi, Thailand! (And a little bit of Bangkok)

Leave a Reply

